Eye movement desensitization and reprocessing (EMDR) is a method of therapy used to treat PTSD and other conditions including anxiety, depression and phobias which are interfering with an individuals life. Its purpose is to heal and help change negative core beliefs.

EMDR uses a combination of sensory input, such as guided back and forth eye movement or hand tapping while talking about negative thoughts and feelings you are experiencing.

The use of EMDR is meant to help individuals work through negative feelings and let go of some of them, while replacing them with beliefs and feelings which are positive and fruitful. This will help an individual work toward a place where memories of the traumatic events can will not have to be accompanied by the stress and anxiety and negative feelings it once brought. The goal is to provide individuals with the tools they need to manage these memories and any associated feelings on their own.

Francine Shapiro developed EMDR, and it consists of these 8 phases:

    • Phase One: Client History and Treatment Planning
    • Phase Two: Preparation
    • Phase Three: Assessment
    • Phase Four: Desensitization
    • Phase Five: Installation
    • Phase Six: Body Scan
    • Phase Seven: Closure
    • Phase Eight: Reevaluation